Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | July 15, 2011

My Harry Potter Confession

I don’t really get the Harry Potter obsession.

Maybe it’s because I’m still trying to get myself past the opening pages of The Prisoner of Azkaban where Harry is all, “My aunt and uncle treat me like crap! Let me show you every terrible thing they can do or say to me ever. Also, they are really fat. Let me explain to you how pudgy and fat they are. Did I mention that they’re fat?”

And I’m all, “Dude, I get it. They are shitty, chubby foster parents.  Get to the part where there’s a real plot and you have to use magic and junk already.”

Ahem.

But I do appreciate the movies, and I am trying to read the books because I know that stories are almost always better than films.

That being said, I didn’t shed a single tear during the final movie today.  Meanwhile, the girl behind me was sniffling and sobbing throughout the entire movie.  I felt so heartless every time I heard someone sniffle during the movie. I SWEAR I HAVE EMOTIONS AND STUFF.

I cried at the end of Toy Story 3.  Like, bawled.  And I think it’s because when I was a kid, I was obsessed with my stuffed animals and toys.  I played with each stuffed animal at least once a day, because I didn’t want any of them to be jealous or lonely. I had a special drawer for all of my Littlest Pet Shop creatures because I thought it was important they were always together.  Each animal had a terrifically important story line, and every new toy had a special place in my heart.  I could see myself in Andy as he struggled to determine what to do with his former toys.  But I can’t see myself in Ron, Hermione, or Harry. . . yet.

Maybe one day it will click, and I will see and understand the amazing story line of Harry Potter.  But for now it’s still just magic wands and British accents.

Responses

  1. OUCH. Well, as you know, I feel very much the opposite, so I’ll just say that I also cried at the end of Toy Story 3. 😉 Very, very emotional stuff. My dad gave me the DVD for Christmas ha.

  2. I’ve been a Harry Potter fan for ages, basically since cracking open the first book. I know its not everyones cup of tea thought. I am also a big fan of Toy Story and its follow ups. The third one, absolutely brutal. Hope you’re doing well in DC dear!


Leave a Reply

Categories

