Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | September 27, 2011

A Love Letter to Illinois

I’ve fallen for the rolling hills, the lines of trees along the highways, and the Potomac River.

But I haven’t been in Illinois since May. This has been the longest I’ve ever gone without seeing my parents or being in the Prairie State.

I’m homesick for the chance to see for miles and miles while driving down a country road. I miss watching the corn turn from green to golden as it ripens for harvest. I miss watching the foxes in my parents’ backyard and seeing the stars at night.

I miss sprinting with my dogs through the backyard. I miss listening to classic rock a little too loud while hanging out in the garage with my dad. I miss HGTV marathons with my mom.

I want to go to the apple orchard and I want to wander through campus. I want a mint hot chocolate from Espresso Royale and I want to pretend to work on something important at Cafe Paradiso while I have Earl Grey tea in The Biggest Mugs I’ve Ever Used.

I miss my friends. I miss deep-dish pizza. I miss eating deep-dish pizza while surrounded by my friends.

I miss you, Illinois.

Responses

  1. I hope you get to visit Illinois soon. I move to GA on Thursday. I know there is so much I’m going to miss about Ohio. Thinking of you!

  2. I just moved to Pittsburgh from Chicago and I miss it so much it hurts. I know how you feel and hope you get to go back soon!

  3. We miss you too! (Me and IllInois) Come back soon. Maybe for white frostea season!

  4. I miss you, too! Even though we didn’t get to see each other very often, it’s hard knowing that you are so far away.


Leave a Reply

Categories

