Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | April 30, 2012

Unforgettable Fun

“We are a simple family. We aren’t doctors, lawyers, or politicians. It’s your wedding day, and we want it to be beautiful. But we will celebrate our way, and it will be fun. We aren’t trying to impress anyone on Park Avenue. When I married your mom, we just got a bunch of kegs and went to the hotel. We didn’t have a DJ, a band, or anything. We just had a lot of fun. That’s all that we want for you.”

-My Dad to me tonight

This came out of a conversation about hors d’oeuvres and the fact that our reception venue has the nerve to charge $4 per person per item. $600 for some cubed cheese and crackers? I hope it’s colby jack covered in crystal. Seriously.

Dad also told me the story of how he complained and whined about the $29 he had to spend to borrow the tux to take my mom to prom. This is a far cry from what the guys will have to spend on their tuxes. Sigh.

All I want is to have a day of unforgettable fun with my best friend. And that’s how I’ve been able to get through wedding planning. I’ve been asking myself, “What will make it fun? What really matters to us on the wedding day? Will not getting x/y/x affect whether or not we walk away on June 2nd as a married couple?” This perspective has helped us avoid so many roadblocks in our planning.

Thirty-three days until I marry my best friend and have a day of unforgettable fun.

Responses

  1. It will most certainly be a day of unforgettable fun, no matter what. Your friends and family will be there to celebrate the two of you, and that’s what will make it fun and memorable. Not the stupidly expensive cheese and crackers, not the (ultimately) pointless little details. You two are what’s most important.

  2. Looking forward to it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

