Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | June 6, 2012

June 2, 2012

A year and a half was spent planning those 24 hours and they flew by quicker than any other day has ever gone.

It was the perfect day surrounded by friends and family. I waited and waited and waited for that moment where Dad would finally knock on the door to tell me it was time to walk down the aisle.

I was, literally, a bouncing bride as I took Chris’s hands to say our vows. There was some singing and prayers and readings, and a wonderful homily (ask me about how Father John thinks we will apparently have, like, twelve babies). And then—in a flash—it was time to walk back down the aisle. Only this time I had a husband and I was a wife. 

There was the moment where I raced up to stand on the University of Illinois’s Alma Mater statue before the phrase, “Let’s see if we can get up there” was even really out of my photographer’s mouth.

There were the moments where it started to rain, but I danced and skipped my way through the sidewalks of campus without a care in the world. There were hugs and laughter and three glasses of champagne in the limo and 1,597 Facebook notifications (and my maid-of-honor lovingly forcing me to put away my phone). 

There was me, racing down the field at Memorial Stadium, with my husband beside me while we waved to our friends and family waiting at the reception. 

There was love. I can’t imagine there ever being another day that could top the amount of love that was present in my life on June 2, 2012. 

There was my dad, giving a speech from his autodealer’s shop notepad with tears in his eyes. And then there was our father-daughter dance where we skipped the routine sappiness and threw on a baseball cap and sunglasses while we danced to Joe Walsh and R.E.M.

And Chris and I danced to Shine by Rosi Golan and I honestly had one of those moments where the rest of the world disappeared and all that remained was Chris and me and the lyrics to that song.

There were old friends and new friends. Family that means the world to me, and me brushing off the fact that my own brother wasn’t there.

There were, of course, the people who took full advantage of the open bar. The stories that happened because of this would come out during breakfast the next day.

This was all there. And more memories pop into my mind as the days go by. All of it came together so seamlessly. It was the happiest day I’ve ever had.

Admittedly, I find myself mourning the fact that the wedding day is over. Today I rushed around town changing my name at the social security office, updating my driver’s license, and getting my passport photo taken.

That’s when it hit me: It’s only just beginning.

Responses

  1. I’m so glad you had the perfect wedding day, now you get to do the fun things… being married has been the absolute best thing I’ve ever done. So glad you’re part of the “club” now. 🙂

  2. Awww, I’m so happy for you! I’m glad it was such a perfect day for you. ❤

  3. congratulations!

  4. **Wipes tears from eyes** What a wonderful celebration! I guess with all the crazy plans and money, it’s an event that everyone will remember for many, many, many years to come!
    <3: Hitch-hike from Dlnd

    • P.S. It was a lovely thing to see in the evolution of your life 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

