Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | September 8, 2012

Adulthood. How Did I Get Here?

The Pros

Chicago:

  • Established network in the informal education field
  • Way more affordable than DC
  • Close to several friends
  • Two-hour drive to visit my parents
  • Lake Michigan
  • I actually love the El
  • Chicago food. Enough said.

DC:

  • Chris likes it here
  • The monuments are pretty. . .
  • National Zoo and other Smithsonian institutions
  • Proximity to so many beautiful parks and other great cities
  • Super high chance of getting a job. I can’t go into much detail here. But this is the thing that’s causing my anxiety.

The Cons

Chicago:

  • Expense to move back to the Midwest won’t be pretty
  • My experience with AT&T reception sucked, and I don’t plan on changing my carrier because that’s another huge cost
  • Super competitive job market

DC

  • Higher cost of living
  • Oh, God. The traffic. I hate driving here.
  • Unpopular opinion: the metro is my least favorite public transportation I’ve used
  • Away from friends, family
  • The emotional effort it takes to try to make new friends
  • We’d still have to eventually move out of this apartment because it is getting increasingly more expensive 

Do I stay to finally have a job that’s been what I’ve wanted (full-time, nature-based. . .), or do I stick it out and try to find my way back to Chicago? Either way, it still means Chris will have to find his own job in either city, too. If we stay, it means finally having a big girl job, but it also means staying out here for at least a few more years. The thought of emotionally putting myself out there to make friends and to learn to love DC is daunting. But maybe I’m being too safe? Chicago is my comfort zone. It’s the easy decision. 

But sometimes doing the right thing isn’t easy. 

Responses

  1. I’m right there with you re: the emotional effort of making new friends in a new place. I’ve been here since 2009 and have only recently established a (small) circle of friends. It’s hard. I know. There’s no easy decision. But if I were you, and I had a good opportunity out there, I wouldn’t turn it down, especially since good opportunities are hard to come by these days. But that’s just me. 🙂 Whatever decision you make will be the right one for you.

  2. It’s funny. I am literally battling the same exact opposite decision. Chicago vs DC and weighing my options. Except I am considering going to DC. I love Chicago. It is my home. I grew up here. But I feel I need a change. I need to live outside of my comfort zone and experience new things. But Chicago is so wonderful, I don’t think I’ll ever completely leave, and I’ll likely be back. Email me, I’d love to chat with you about any DC advice or job connections.


Leave a Reply

Categories

