Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | January 6, 2013

Reflecting, 2013

It is good to be home, if only for the fact that I can finally sit down long enough to reflect on 2012 and think about what’s in store for 2013.

I learned long ago that resolutions don’t work for me, so I started coming up with a word or phrase that would resonate with me throughout the year. Let me put on my official hipster glasses, because I’ve noticed this year that it’s all the rage to have New Year Themes instead of resolutions. I was totally doing it before it was cool, you guys.

Let’s reflect.

2005: “Change” The usual post-high school What Am I Doing with My Life crisis.

2006: “Connections” New friends, new home, transferred to a new school, studied abroad.

2007: “Take Charge” Hardest school year, ever. But I learned to work through the tough times with a bit more grace than I had in the past.

2008: “Take adventures” I had graduated from college, moved to the northern suburbs of Chicago, realized I hated working in a greenhouse, and stayed in an unhappy relationship for far too long. In retrospect, 2008 was a pretty awful year.

2009: ”Rediscover” myself and my passions. I became a camp counselor for a nature program, and that really changed everything. I knew from then on that I was meant to be in environmental education.

2010: “Do More” Volunteered more, laughed more, loved more. Dated Chris. It was a great year, despite the grad school nonsense.

2011: “Shine” I had decided on this word of the year before Chris had proposed, so then it became a figurative and a literal meaning for the year.

2012: ”Magic” (“…watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.” -Roald Dahl) Some DC adventures, getting married, going to the UK. Yup. 2012 was a year of magic.

2013: “Be Deliberate” At first I thought my word of the year was going to be “Action”, but I realized that not all action is good or what I need to be doing, so I’ve decided “Be Deliberate” would be my phrase for the year. I just need to be more focused on the choices I make. Being deliberate means I’ll let myself be on social media if that’s what I need for the moment, but I’ll have more balance. Everything with meaning and purpose. Less floundering, more life with intention.

Responses

  1. lol, you trendsetter you. 😉 love all the various words and phrases you’ve focused on over the years.

    • I’m behind on most other things–Didn’t read Harry Potter or watch Parks and Rec until late 2012. Gotta have at least one thing going for me. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

